Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (60) - TV Shows (13) - Books (15) - Games (3)

Why are they laughing when I'm not?!

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 20 January 2013 03:57 (A review of 8 Out of 10 Cats)

I've given this show no end of chances to make a reasonable impression on me. I know many people who have said this to be "funny" I just don't see it or hear it. I think Jimmy Carr is really detestable, he has the odd joke that's okay, but all in all, mocking victims of WWII is honestly not my idea of funny, don't get me wrong though, they may be clever, but you got to remember that it doesn't mean it's okay to laugh. He's been compared to Frankie Boyle, something that I don't understand, because at least he can be witty sometimes, unlike Jimmy Carr. And although I agree with what Carr says about disabled people to some degree, it's still not an acceptable thing to say out loud. I also think what Car said about the Queen on the jubilee celebrations was utterly appalling, and I hope he realises that.

On the actual show: Okay, what're they laughing at? What's so funny? What IS funny?...oh, yeah, exactly nothing even is. This TV show is an abysmal mess. Anything Carr hosts turn to shit immediately, and that's only cause he's telling these supposed "jokes". I have to say though, when he was the special guest host on Have I Got News For You, he was reasonably funny, but that could just be because his jokes were already written for him by the show. Hmmm?

So, yes. The question I constantly ask myself is: What's so funny about this show? My answer/general fact: Because nothing actually is funny, Jimmy Carr a hack of a comedian and is totally detestable and so are his dire guests. Boo-Hoo!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Only watch for the Lawyer death part!

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 20 January 2013 03:17 (A review of Thirteen Ghosts)

A very predictable horror film. It's nothing you haven't seen before, so I highly suggest you don't waste your time with this film, and instead watch a better horror flick, because this is really just crap. There's a few parts here and there that are pretty gruesome and entertaining, but you could easily just search for them in YouTube and save yourself some time.

Okay, so, if you're still not convinced that the gory aspects of the film are worth a watch then I'll just tell you the best one: Seriously!! What happened to the Lawyer was totally f*cked up, and so I big time suggest you watch it as soon as you get some time. It's the only good and original part of the whole film, and definitely that scene alone should be added to Horror History, I know some people who will even second that. But don't bother with the actual film.

That's the only reason this film got a 2 instead of the 1.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Good ol' 6 for the Sixties!

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 20 January 2013 02:51 (A review of The Graduate)

Not a bad film whatsoever, but very overrated. Yes, there's some fairly good actors, but it honestly still didn't help prevent this film from the 'dated' bug. It's such a film of it's time.

It only just got itself on the IMDb 250, but only just, and I'm pretty certain in a few years, it'll be off there for good. I think, in order to enjoy this more than I did, I think it would take me to 'like' these types of films, and, to be adapted to these times. I think after a while, you'll come to learn that it's not a brilliant film, and in parts is boring. Don't be afraid to say you don't like it or that it's overrated. Because it truly is. I think this is a prime example of people only saying they like this film, because it's a classic.

I think this film is aimed more at older couples, say 50 or over, not that it's a bad thing, but I think if a film is in the IMDb 250, I believe it should appeal to a variety of people. This film, doesn't accomplish that. It's not a film I'd watch again.

I'm giving it a 6, for now, but as time goes by, it might even drop to a 5.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

He's Top Cat!

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 19 January 2013 11:31 (A review of Top Cat)

Top Cat (some may know it as 'Boss Cat') is one of my favourite cartoons. It's funny, witty, entertaining and clever - everything you want to find in a cartoon. Hanna and Barbera create yet another genius cartoon show, the other being Tom & Jerry. Children were so damn lucky to have such cartoons back in the day, I have to say, I'm really quite jealous. I mean, look what we have for children's shows today for example: Endless reality shows starring talentless socialites, soap operas and...The Big Bang Theory. It's such a shame. It's also fairly hard to find some old videos of Top Cat, they're not very common to find in all honesty, but good luck! I have about 4 episodes, however occasionally a couple of episodes are on TV, but not often enough.

I was shocked to see that this show only ran for a year. I have to say, it not only shocked me, but it also surprised me. Ah well, I guess let it end while it's still good instead of letting it run on past it's best - which reminds of another thing today's television does just to make more money...

It's a classic cartoon show, I love everything about it and it's timeless. What a great show. If you haven't seen it yet, get around to it as soon as you can.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wonderful Wonka

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 19 January 2013 02:03 (A review of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory)

It's sad to see that the only reviews so far on this wonderful classic are negative ones. Well, it's time to balance things out!

I personally, loved this film, yes there's only so many times you can watch it, but I still found it highly enjoyable. I do not, for even a second, believe that it's 'dated', it's anything but. Also, if a film truly is 'dated' how exactly is it the films fault?. They didn't have half as many special affects as they do today, I've never been a fan of Special Affects, such things are usually over-used when a film has absolutely nothing to offer and is quite pretentious. So, sorry to here that it's not 'the now' for you...such a shame, well, do feel free to watch Tim Burton's terrible version that seems to impress the simple-minded and easily pleased. Cheerio.

Now, as you've probably already guessed, yes, I despised Tim Burton's version, and just for the record, I LOVE some of Tim Burton's films, I even think he did the best Batman films, and I can assure you, not many people think that. Oh, and I think Johnny Depp is one of the best actors ever, he's great, but sadly, they both did not redeem that feature for me. Therefore, I believe this film should not have been remade at all. I understand why some people may not have liked this, maybe because it's slightly aimed at a younger audience or because it's about candy, and some people don't like candy?

But, people who say things such as "it's not as good as the book", are nothing but moronic idiot, and I say that politely. A book and a film are two entirely different things, and you can not compare them, sorry. The book was good to read and the film was good to watch. Read and watch; there's a big, big difference folks. But, all in all, it's all opinions, and everyone's entitled to their own. But "not as good as the book" opinions honestly do irritate me. The only thing a film should have in common to the book is that it's true to the book, because if it's not true to the book, then they should re-name the film's title. But, in this case, the film was defiantly true to the book, absolutely. And that's all there is to say about the whole 'book/film' scenario.

On the actual film itself: Gene Wilder does a fantastic job at playing Willy Wonka, he's more believable than Johnny Depp's take, and you really think he's just jumped out the book to the film. Gene Wilder played the part like he was born for it. The kids were great (although I must say, the boy who played Charlie seriously irritated me), the others were well thought out, and again believable and each had their own personality that added to the film instead of some whiny, stereotype kids who just won't shut up. The acting was superb. The visuals were great, what can I say. The whole thing just made you want be there, whether it was to eat and try all that wonderful amazingly, unusual candy or just to tell all them whiny spoilt kids to..."shut the hell up!". That candy world part, was stunning and amazing, it's like another version of paradise, a candy version of paradise, it was truly amazing. ...Unlike Burton's, of course, his candy world seemed to be a gloomy mess. It was more like entering a 15 year old teenager's mind, instead of a magical, beautiful candy world like the one in this film. The directing, well what can I say?, as far as directing goes, it was a job well done. I think this truly was the only decent film Mel Stuart directed. He should be proud of this beautiful and wonderful film. One success is enough. One is better than none. That's for sure. Great directing. Oh, and there's just one more big thing I just can't forget to mention: The Oompa Loompa's songs, my goodness were they ingenious, they were witty, funny and truthful. But...what replaced the songs in Tim Burton's version was horrible, noisy and cheesy songs. No witty, funny and truthful lyrics at all, but just ghastly songs that were easily capable of giving me a thumping headache - which they indeed did. Burton also changed the story, in which it made it just horrible. That film was just a total mess to put it shortly.

Overall, I just think the film is amazing, I really, really do. Wilder steals the show, of course. And everything else just adds to it in a brilliant way. 1+ for the acting, directing, originality and pretty much everything else. It also has a touch of psychological aspects, just great stuff I say. Although I'm giving this an 8, that's only because a fantasy film can only do so much. It can only impress so far, fantasies indeed have a limit of entertainment, but this film keeps kicking at the limit, and it may just one day break that limit, it almost did for me, and I'm sure a bunch of others too. 100% recommended to all!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Definitely Not Sandler's Worst

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 19 January 2013 10:42 (A review of Big Daddy)

Just had a quick flick through the old reviews done on this film and I came across one saying it's: Sandler's worst movie.

Seriously?! I mean, out of all the terrible films Adam Sandler has done, people even have the cheek to call this very average film "bad". There's a difference between average and bad. And being since I've seen most of Sandler's films, even including Going Overboard that features in the bottom IMDb 250, then I think I have more of an idea of what's to be called "the worst".

I have to admit though, I just thought it was going to be so bad that I'd feel physically ill, I was wrong to a certain degree. And yes, it's billions and billions of miles away from being "brilliant", but it's not Sandler's worst movie. Yes, it's sentimental and mawkish in parts, but I believe some people are semi-ashamed that they didn't find a Sandler movie THAT bad.

Yes, it's kind of the same thing, but just 'better', Adama Sandler plays the 30 year old slob, as usual and then learn that he needs to change his way, blah blah, yeah. But some aspects of the film, were alright, really. It's watchable for sure, not amazing or overly funny, but it's far from Sandler's worst film. And if you're still not entirely convinced by my words, then watch Going Overboard, then tell me what you think.

So, to all the people thinking they're so clever for saying that they disliked a Sandler movie, just be quite and stop watching his films. They can't be that bad if people who claim to say they're rubbish, still go an see them as soon as he has a new film out. That just doesn't make sense, does it?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stick With The Original Folks.

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 19 January 2013 10:15 (A review of Tom and Jerry Tales)

Ok, I just want to make it clear, I love Tom & Jerry, but not this insult.

My first problem with this stupid remake of the original show was that The Cat and The Mouse can talk!? What!? Oh Yes, you heard me, talking!

That's not how it's suppose to be, they've ruined it. And they have toned down the violence, oh seriously, how stupid.

The worlds gone mad I tells ya.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Psych review

Posted : 4 years, 10 months ago on 19 January 2013 10:09 (A review of Psych)

Well now this is actually funny, we needed a show like this.

Having constant useless shows being chucked at us, such as The Middle.

The humour and the characters could bring a miserable old man's inner happy child out. All I can really say is that I love this show, that's all. I don't always know why sometimes..



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tess of the D'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 18 January 2013 12:27 (A review of Tess of the D'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman)

This isn't going to be a long review, I'll tell you why, because I'm not even sure why I read it in the first place, even in some parts I hated it. But it's very addictive I must say. It's one of them books that you can only read if your in the right state of mind, I don't know, just...One weird book I guess. But I don't think it was bad at all. Fairly good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

An American Werewolf in London review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 18 January 2013 09:15 (A review of An American Werewolf in London)

I have seen hundreds of low ratings on this movie. Which shouldn't be if people actually paid attention to who it's aimed at; The British.
Why are Americans watching this, or any other Nationalities I guess, but I'll tell you now, this isn't a movie for Americans, obviously you get the odd American that appreciates British Cinema, but not many. Americans when they think of werewolf they expect blood, gruesome stuff and scary stuff, and lots of it. Yes this movie does have it but not quite up to the Americans standards, that's why I would suggest if you haven't understood British comedy or entrainment etc. Do not watch this, because you won't like it. You'll think it's boring. Although I may only be Commonwealth, I understood the sides which were meant to be understood, I didn't need endless violence to enjoy a werewolf movie, and really neither should you, but that's how you were all brought up to be. And so that's how it is. But anyway, I like this film. Proper werewolf's, not ugly wimpy ones like in that god awful Twilight - thank you Americans for your attempt to try and out do the great British.

But overall, it's a fairly good horror movie, sort of average.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block